# NJIT Center of Translational Research Inauguration with NSF Accelerating Research Translation (ART) Cooperative Agreement Strategic Planning and Board of Advisors Meeting

February 21, 2024; 11.30 AM to 3.30 PM NJIT Center of Translational Research, VentureLink-II Building, NJIT Campus

**Event Description**: NJIT received \$6 million cooperative agreement funding from NSF to establish a Center for Translational Research (CTR) to enhance the translational research, innovation, and technology entrepreneurship ecosystem at NJIT. As an important part of the capacity building for translational research at NJIT, the CTR is being launched as the first step. The CTR will administer and expand NJIT's Technology Innovation Translation Acceleration (TITA) seed funding program, and organize workshop, training and networking, and collaborative partnership programs to further promote translational research and innovation. Princeton University is the mentoring IHE on the cooperative agreement to help steer and assessment of CTR programs. The Princeton University (PU) team will be led by Dr. Craig Arnold, Vice Dean of Innovation.

NJIT CTR inauguration event with a combined meeting of the CTR External Advisory Board, TITA External Advisory Board, PU Mentoring Team, and CTR Operations Committee will be held on February 21, 2024. The main agenda is to review the strategic goals, directions and operations to enhance and steer the translational research, networking and partnership programs towards strengthening the NJIT Research, Innovation and Technology Entrepreneurship (RITE) ecosystem.

# Agenda

CTR Inauguration and Reception (VentureLink Reception Area)

11.30 AM – 12.00 PM:	Welcome Remarks and CTR Inauguration Atam Dhawan, Senior Vice Provost for Research; Executive Director, CTR Teik Lim, President, NJIT
	Robert Cohen, Chair, NJIT BOT; President Digital, Robotics, and Enabling Technology at Stryker
	Nick DeNichilo, Vice Chair, NJIT BOT; President and Chief Executive Officer of Mott MacDonald, North America (Retd.)
	John Pelesko, Provost, NJIT
	Brian Kiernan, Chair, TITA Advisory Board; Vice President and Chief Scientist of InterDigital Communications (Retd.); Angel Investor
	Craig Arnold, Vice Dean of Innovation, Princeton University; Chair, CTR Mentoring Team Michael Johnson, President NJII

12.00 PM – 12.30 PM:	Networking and Reception (Light Lunch)	
12.30 PM - 12.45 PM:	Ribbon Cutting Ceremony (CTR- VentureLinkII - 4th Floor)	
CTR Advisory Boards and Strategic Planning Meeting (112 Eberhardt) (Attendees: CTR Advisory Board, TITA Advisory Board and CTR Operations Committee Members)		
1.00 PM – 1.30 PM:	<ul> <li>Welcome Remarks</li> <li>Pradeep Fulay, Program Director, NSF Technology and Innovation Partnership (TIP) Directorate (Remote)</li> <li>Thyaga Nandagopal, Division Director, Division of Innovation and Technology Ecosystems (ITE) (Remote)</li> <li>Introductions and CTR, TITA Program, and NSF-ART</li> <li>Cooperative Agreement Strategic Goals Presentation</li> <li>Atam Dhawan, Senior Vice Provost for Research; Executive Director, CTR</li> </ul>	
1.30 PM – 2.05 PM:	<ul> <li>Executive Summary Presentations on TITA Seed Grant Projects (9 Projects; 3 Minutes Each)</li> <li>TITA-2024 Cohort: <ol> <li>30 PM - 1.33 PM: Vivek Kumar</li> <li>34 PM - 1.37 PM: Som Mitra</li> <li>38 PM - 1.41 PM: Jay Meegoda</li> <li>42 PM - 1.45 PM: Sagnik Basuray (TITA-2024 project)</li> <li>46 PM - 1.49 PM: Wen Zhang (TITA-2024 project)</li> </ol> </li> <li>TITA-2023 Cohort: <ol> <li>50 PM - 1.53 PM: Sagnik Basuray (TITA-2023 project)</li> <li>54 PM - 1.57 PM: Wen Zhang (TITA-2023 project)</li> <li>58 PM - 2.01 PM: Eon Soo Lee</li> <li>2.02 PM - 2.05 PM: Salam Daher</li> </ol> </li> </ul>	
2.05 PM – 2.15 PM:	Break	
2.15 PM – 3.30 PM:	CTR-ART Strategic Planning Meeting (Executive Session) Moderators: Atam Dhawan and Craig Arnold ART Cooperative Agreement Specific Goals and Deliverables CTR – Strategic Plan and Operations IHE Mentoring Goals and Operations Next Steps and Meeting Schedules	
3.30 PM – 4.00 PM	Concluding Remarks and Adjourn	

#### Attendees

NJIT/NJII Leadership: Teik Lim John Pelesko Michael Johnson Atam Dhawan Kenneth Alexo Andrew Christ Matthew Golden Moshe Kam Kevin Belfield Ali Mili Oya Tukel Gabrielle Esperdy Louis Hamilton Matthew Bandelt Linda Cummings Guiling (Grace) Wang Shanthi Gopalakrishnan Kathy Naasz Hyojin Kim Durga Misra **Bryan Pfister** Joga Rao Lisa Axe Taha Marhaba Samuel Lieber Andrew Gerrard Zoi-Heleni Michalopoulou Omowunmi Sadik Farzan Nadim Maurie Cohen David Bader James Geller Vincent Oria Michael Helper NJIT Admin Leadership

Eric Hetherington Kathryn Hageman Kathleen Bosco Clark, Kimberly Carreras, Alexandra Todd Miller

## Tracey Regan

## Princeton University – IHE Mentoring Team

Craig Arnold

• • • • • • • •

# CTR Advisory Board

Robert Cohen Nick DeNichilo Craig Arnold Colin Brenan Dean Paranicas Judith Sheft Virginie Maillard Naor Berkner

#### TITA Advisory Board

Brian Kiernan Govi Rao Marc Long Daniel Henderson Steven Schachter Nick DeNichilo Manish Patel Michael Doyle

#### CTR Operations Committee

Shawn Chester Cesar Bandera Michael Ehrlich Mathias Miller Michael Van Ter Sluis David Jones Kerry Fluhr Kimberly Dripchak

## TITA Seed Grant Awardees (TITA-2023 and TITA-2024 cohorts)

Eon Soo Lee Jay Meegoda Sagnik Basuray (2) Somenath Mitra Wen Zhang Vivek Kumar Salam Daher Wen Zhnag (2)